Call to Action on the Housing Crisis

Join BBBON and other organizations (Wellstone Democratic Club, Oakland Alliance, John George Democratic Club, Oakland Tenants Union, Post Salon & other Housing Activists)

Mobilize to tell the City Council on April 5th @5:30

HouseDeclare a Housing State of Emergency HouseDeclare a Moratorium on No Cause Evictions HouseAlso Declare a Moratorium on Rent Increases HousePass or place on ballot the Renters’ Upgrade Measure by the Oakland Tenants Union HouseRequire Community Benefits-Impact Fees & Percentage of Affordable Units If you can't make the 5:30 rally, you can sign up to speak during discussions on this agenda item here. If you can't make it to the City Council meeting, download this Housing letter , insert your specific details in the fill-in fields and send it to your Council member and the at-Large Council member. Just because many of us are secure in our homes, it doesn't mean we can ignore the plight or concerns of the 60% of our neighbors and friends who rent and are at the mercy of their landlords or speculators who are out to make money on the backs of our diverse community that gives us the reason why we haven't moved over the hill to the whiter and less diverse burbs to the East. Here is the contact information for your Council members: Mail: [Council Member’s Name] 1 Frank Ogowa Plaza Oakland, CA  94612   District 1 - Councilmember Dan Kalb  Phone: (510) 238-7001 Email: dkalb@oaklandnet.com   District 2 - Councilmember Abel Guillen Ph: (510) 238-7002 Email: aguillen@oaklandnet.com   District 3 - Councilmember Lynette McElhaney  Ph: 510-238-7003 E-Mail: lmcelhaney@oaklandnet.com   District 4 - Councilmember Annie Campbell Washington Ph: (510) 238-7004 Email: acampbellwashington@oaklandnet.com    District 5 - Councilmember Noel Gallo Ph: (510) 238-7005 Email: ngallo@oaklandnet.com   District 6 - Councilmember Desley Brooks Ph: (510) 238-7006 (office) Email: dbrooks@oaklandnet.com   District 7 - Councilmember Larry Reid Ph: (510) 238-7007 E-mail: lreid@oaklandnet.com   Councilmember - At-Large Rebecca Kaplan  Ph: (510) 238-7008 E-mail: rkaplan@oaklandnet.com  

Tags:

Comments are closed.